Day 68: Sandra Hyde, Instructional Coach (NFO – Courtin)

What did I learn today?


Today, as with most days, I’ve consolidated my belief that collaboration is the key to teaching and learning. I’m fortunate that I work in five fabulous schools this year. Each school has its own unique strengths, as well as goals they are working on to support student learning. As an Instructional Coach, I have had the opportunity to meet amazing teachers who bring enthusiasm and passion to their jobs. Every day brings new learning for me, as I truly feel I learn from each of them and all their students. Learning from each other is one of the most profound experiences I have had in my career as a teacher and a student. When we talk to our peers about what we’re teaching, how we can teach, what we anticipate our students will do with a task and what we are looking for, we CAN change how we approach the curriculum and how our students feel about learning. There are so many rich resources available to us in our colleagues; we truly need to make the time to collaborate. By taking the stance that we are all learners, we can begin to take risks and be OK with making mistakes. Persevering together makes our passion for teaching increase and that can only mean good things for our students. So, on those days when I question whether I know enough to be effective in my role as Instructional Coach, I remember, we are ALL learners and the power comes from working and learning together. Have a great day of learning, everyone!

Leave a comment